Active Living for Older Adults

Did you know there are 208 independent studies listed on PubMed demonstrating the benefits of Nordic walking? Benefits include key factors relating to fall prevention such as improved balance, core strength, posture, and walking tolerance, reduced impact on painful joints and increased confidence for walking.

Learn how Activator poles designed by a Canadian therapist for stability can be a more effective mobility tool for older adults compared to canes & walkers (when appropriate) and for fall prevention.

By the end of this 30 minute webinar, you will be able to:

  1. Understand the researched benefits of walking poles relating to fall prevention.
  2. Identify the specialized features of Activator poles compare to other poles and mobility devices.
  3. Apply a new technique for rehabilitation.
  4. Apply the use of walking poles with 5 seated and standing exercises.
  5. Identify contraindications and 5 tips for the safe use of poles with older adults

Tuesday, Sept 26, 2017
Time: 14:00 UTC – adjust for local time
(7:00 am PST, 3:00 pm BST, 4:00 pm CET)

Register Now

Wednesday, Oct 4, 2017
Time:  02:00 UTC – adjust for local time
(12:00 pm AEST, 7:00 pm PST Tues, Oct 3)

Register Now

This webinar is for IPTOP members.

Presenter: Mandy Shintani, BSc (OT), MA (Gero), Urban Poling Inc.
Mandy Shintani has been an occupational therapist for 30 years and has her Master’s Degree in Gerontology. Her specialty area is community-based therapy and wellness for older adults.  She is a frequent conference speaker in Canada, Europe & Australia including the National Fall Prevention.  Mandy developed the ACTIVATOR poles (patent pending) and technique.

Activator distributors in Canada, US, Australia, Ireland and UK and available internationally – contact admin@urbanpoling.com for more information.

 

 

Going uphill

Keep your poles more upright and in front of you. Lean forward slightly, and use the poles to help push you up the hill. If necessary, bend your elbows, but remember to transition back to the straight arm technique at the top of the hill
Barb Gormley, Director of Education

Tips from the Best