Active Living for Less Active Older Adults – IPTOP Members

Did you know there are 208 independent studies listed on PubMed demonstrating the benefits of Nordic walking? Benefits include key factors relating to fall prevention such as improved balance, core strength, posture, and walking tolerance, reduced impact on painful joints and increased confidence for walking.

Learn how Activator poles designed by a Canadian therapist for stability can be a more effective mobility tool for older adults compared to canes & walkers (when appropriate) and for fall prevention.

By the end of this webinar, you will be able to:

  1. Understand the researched benefits of walking poles relating to fall prevention.
  2. Identify the specialized features of Activator poles compare to other poles and mobility devices.
  3. Apply a new technique for rehabilitation.
  4. Apply the use of walking poles with 5 seated and standing exercises.
  5. Identify contraindications and 5 tips for the safe use of poles with older adults

Date:  Tuesday September 26, 2017
Time:  3 pm BST, 4 pm CET, 6 pm PST (35 minutes plus Q & A)
Attendees:  Open to IPTOP members
Registration: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8096517038336703747

Date:  Wednesday, Oct 4, 2017 (Oct 3 for PST)
Time:  02:00 UTC – adjust for local time (12:00 pm AEST, 7:00 pm PST Tues, Oct 3) (35 minutes plus Q & A)
Attendees:  Open to IPTOP members
Registration:  https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4143496759063615491

Presenter: Mandy Shintani, BSc (OT), MA (Gero), Urban Poling Inc.

Mandy Shintani has been an occupational therapist for 30 years and has her Master’s Degree in Gerontology. Her specialty area is community-based therapy and wellness for older adults.  She is a frequent conference speaker in Canada, Europe & Australia including the National Fall Prevention.  Mandy developed the ACTIVATOR poles (patent pending) and technique.

Activator distributors in Canada, US, Australia, Ireland and UK and available internationally – contact admin@urbanpoling.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Core Fitness

Our strapless ergonomic handle was designed to develop “core fitness” as you walk. Pressing the outside edges of your hands against the wide base of the handle engages your core muscles and creates resistance that propels you forward.
– Mandy Shintani, OT

Tips from the Best